about LAVA

With strong roots in editorial design, we are trained to work as visual storytellers. Over the years, this way of working has led to a unique approach to concept development using all sorts of (digital) media. Within our Lava Lab we challenge our clients to experiment and research new opportunities in design & technology. At the beginning of 2013 we established our Beijing office, kickstarting the Chinese part of Lava.

2015 - Lava celebrates 25 years with a light installation from the artist group Squid Soup
2015 - Lava Lab and Amsterdam Museum present their museum storytelling app with iBeacon technology
2014 - Nuclear Security Summit is the largest summit ever held in the Netherlands
2013 - The Mobile Design Agency drives around during the Beijing Design Week
2012 - The first design museum in Russia opens, in a bus!
2013 - The 13th Istanbul Biennial attracted a record number of visitors
2011 - Humanity House opens in the Hague
2010 - Lava is awarded European Design Agency of the year

clients

Commercial

Editorial

  • De nieuwe liefde
  • Digitaalgids
  • Gezondgids
  • New Scientist
  • STW
  • Wegner Group

Education

Events

  • IMPACT
  • KLIK
  • PINC
  • YPF

Governmental

NGO's & Charities

  • Diabetes Fonds
  • Humanitas
  • Humanity House
  • MVO
  • Rode Kruis
  • Vogelbescherming

Self-initiated project

Theater & Performing arts

team

Daan Hornstra

daan@lava.nl

Anton Lamberg

anton@lava.nl

Céline Lamée

celine@lava.nl

Mantas Rimkus

mantas@lava.nl

Hans Wolbers

hans@lava.nl

Cecilia Martin

cecilia@lava.nl

Noortje Boer

noortje@lava.nl

Frank Smolenaers

frank@lava.nl

Klasien van de Zandschulp

klasien@lava.nl

Sacha Fominskaya

sasha@lava.nl

Gianluca Monaco

gianluca@lava.nl

Lisa van Kleef

lisa@lava.nl

awards

Over the years, Lava has won several design awards including the Best Magazine Art Directors of 2000, Dutch Design Award (2007), European Design Agency of the year (2010), Red Dot 'Communication Design' Award (2010), Best of the Web (2011) and EDA Gold for Brand implementation (2014).